styled-components
4.7/5448

styled-components

npm i styled-components
Drew W MercerRaleigh, NC3 Ratings3 Reviews
Full Stack Web Developer & Software Engineer, specializing in design and development of customized sustainable solutions.
August 5, 2020
Easy to Use
Great Documentation
Performant
Highly Customizable

First off, the styled-components documentation should be a template for other JavaScript libraries. The reference material is easy to navigate, concise, and up-to-date. Aside from that, I have had good experiences utilizing styled-components for managing CSS within JavaScript when not using a post-processor. Less struggling with overwriting other CSS classes elsewhere in the application does make my life easier. Plus, working directly with elements lets the developer have a little more control and precision than when relying on updates related to the viewport. Scope control for CSS in JavaScript is more straightforward for me as well, so I like using styled-components when I get the chance to design from early on. This also helps use your components in a more succinct manner, which has increased readability when working with other developers on a project with styled-components. Sometimes it feels like cheating and similar to using inline CSS styles, but it is so much more elegant than that. I never thought I would be embracing CSS in JavaScript, but after stumbling across this library, I am sold and will be continuing to suggest incorporating using it for future client work. It does tend to lock you into a camp, but I can recommend it when you're free to work with React.


4
PatrickRNGachakavartispoonertechdennisberko
HarthSid53 Ratings51 Reviews
March 23, 2021
Great Documentation
Easy to Use
Performant
Highly Customizable

Using styled-components I was able to easily write plain CSS in my JavaScript code with no pain. It's easy-to-make react components using this library. The massively growing community around styled-components helped me a lot in my projects. The documentation is also beginner-friendly.


6
quanschengHarshsidhharssid3harthsid2-hubsawan-hardcodernikhil2882
ABHISHEK CHANDRASENAN19 Ratings19 Reviews
complexity of O(log n).
December 5, 2020

The syntax of Styled Components also takes some time to get used to, but if you’re familiar with template literals then it shouldn’t be too much of a stretch. I'd definitely recommend Styled Components. There will be some bumps along the way, but it will reduce the complexity of the codebase.


2
quanschengyogeshkumar291
rohanSaroha-pharmeasy30 Ratings30 Reviews
1 year ago

Styled-components are something you should consider when you don’t want to use any UI library in your project. We can create styles container to style the div,image and other tags instead of giving them inline styling I have no problem in customizing the component and making it the way i want


1
s-r-aman
Prarthana PandeIndia31 Ratings30 Reviews
1 year ago
Performant
Easy to Use
Great Documentation

You can either use sx={{}} to provide CSS-based styling to your components or create styled-components. Though a little tricky for beginners but this helps a lot if you don't want to use sx={{}} multiple times. I have used this a lot. Quite useful for similar use-cases.


1
lepusarcticus
SR AmanNew Delhi, India88 Ratings87 Reviews
Run and Fall, Rise and Run.
August 6, 2021
Great Documentation
Highly Customizable
Slow
Responsive Maintainers
Bleeding Edge
Easy to Use

Styled components has been my go to styling library for a long time. I still use it in my side projects. This was the library to prove that yes, css in js can be fun and amazing. This became a breath of fresh air when we were using long classes. The document and community is great, you will find everything there you need. I am just astonished by how the adoption rate has increased for this library. If you want to create your own ui components, this makes it very easy. There are some bad ways to implement this library but you should be fine if you follow standard guidelines. There are a lot of youtube videos and blogposts for this. But yeah that is a con. Its a joy to use this library, and I will continue to use it.


0
Chase GibbonsLogan, Ut61 Ratings25 Reviews
September 3, 2021

At first I was a skeptic of not only this library but of all jss ways of doing css. And then i was awakened to the true power of doing css just like any other component. Now I keep quiet lol. Styled-components is I think the de-facto leader in the jss realm too, they make it really easy to override other components css and whatnot I have found--I'm honestly really impressed. I come from an angular background so doing css in this way was very new to me but now I sometimes question why angular doesn't adopt this way of thinking for styles.


0
Patrick PassarellaSão Paulo, SP60 Ratings28 Reviews
Passionate about entrepreneurship and creating things
1 year ago
Great Documentation
Easy to Use
Bleeding Edge
Highly Customizable

I don't find myself using another css library with React. Before this library I was using plain SCSS, after I discovered it, things changed and I didn't have to find myself in the middle of hundreds of lines of CSS. Everything becomes a component and very organized, and great to see. To use this library you just install and start using it, the configuration is very easy. The documentation has everything you need, the community is huge, there's tons of content about it.


0
Stef HavermansAntwerp20 Ratings20 Reviews
Full stack dev born and raised in Antwerp.
September 19, 2020
Easy to Use
Highly Customizable
Great Documentation

Styled-components allow styling in libraries like React to be as close as possible to the classic way of CSS. Instead of typing fontColor : 12 as React would expect, you can now use the react-color classic way of approach, which is a much better option. Styled-components also allow users to re-use certain parts of styling in certain components. Styling has become very easy and really simple and I couldn't miss it.


0
Mariano Gonzalez SalazarMadrid, Spain80 Ratings78 Reviews
December 15, 2020
Easy to Use
Great Documentation

When working with React Components, you can set its structure and logic by coding on JS on the same file, but you need to make the styling on a separate file in CSS. With styled-components you can add the styles of a component in the same place as the component itself, making it more maintainable. There are alternatives such CSS-modules, you should learn about this one before making a decission.


0

Rate Package

100

Quick Feedback

Great Documentation32
Easy to Use33
Performant20
Highly Customizable32
Bleeding Edge14
Responsive Maintainers11
Poor Documentation0
Hard to Use0
Slow1
Buggy0
Abandoned0
Unwelcoming Community0