rollup

Next-generation ES module bundler

Showing:

User Ratings

4.7/581
5
57
4
21
3
3
2
0
1
0

Top Feedback

Easy to Use22
Great Documentation19
Performant16
Highly Customizable9
Bleeding Edge9
Responsive Maintainers5

Showing 72 Reviews

Elad OssadonSan Francisco1 Rating1 Review
July 9, 2020

Rollup is great for node packages. It can keep import/export statements (ESM/ES Modules) in place, which help bundlers like webpack only include code that is actually used in the bundle (tree shaking). I use it to bundle all my libraries and shared components.


1
tuxracer
RohitPayyanur, Kannur, Kerala, India35 Ratings35 Reviews
I am a second year computer science student.
1 month ago
Great Documentation
Easy to Use

I would recommend Rollup to anyone who just needs to get their project to work. Try to avoid this on big complex projects as at some point in the future you might run into some blocks ( most likely due to the unavailability of a plugin you need ). The setup is extremely easy and quick to get started. Even righting custom plugins is pretty easy but this may take you out of track when working on some projects. It is also pretty easy to integrate it with some CI/CD pipeline of your choice.


1
riginoommen
ShaminKochi, Kerala51 Ratings50 Reviews
Full stack engineer & open source enthusiast
5 months ago
Great Documentation
Easy to Use
Performant
Highly Customizable
Bleeding Edge
Responsive Maintainers

I have used it professionally to develop a javascript module which only supported AMD. The project was done in typescript. Rollup was the perfect bundler for the project, it along with the plugins it comes with has helped me. I found the rollup for building javascript packages where you have to build it in multiple platforms like es6, common js etc. They have a very good documentation and good amount of plugins for your use case. It is also not very hard to write your own plugin. The project is well maintained.


0
Branden MetcalfeUnderground14 Ratings13 Reviews
I'm the firestarter
August 31, 2020
Responsive Maintainers

I had a short experience with rollup and it's a legit module bundler, with support for tree shaking / dead code elimination. While not as popular as Parcel or Webpack, it does have a growing community and very responsive maintainers. Would recommend it if you need a bundler for an npm package/module. If Rollup is good enough for React, it's good enough for you: https://github.com/facebook/react/pull/9327


0
Katharin BensonIndia104 Ratings133 Reviews
Machine Learning and Deep Learning Enthusiast.
13 days ago
Performant
Easy to Use
Great Documentation

Apart from Webpack & Parcel, my choice for building npm packages for distribution is Rollup. TypeScript plugin is a good addition to the config you are writing. I have run into issues with Rollup and babel with lack of some plugins support. Its comparatively faster as compared to webpack and the configurability of paths is good as compared to using TSC for bundling.


0
Kamrul Islam ShahinChittagong, Bangladesh73 Ratings53 Reviews
B.Sc in Computer Science and Engineering @ CUET 🌱 Educator 💻 Programmer 🌐 Developer
9 months ago
Easy to Use
Great Documentation
Performant

A next-generation JavaScript module bundler that efficiently bundles the app into a single file. This helps to reduce the problem of the large file size and complexity of the scripts by reducing the number of HTTP requests and improve page load time. It is now getting popular as it generates a cleaner and more efficient code than any other module bundlers.


0
Tristan MarshAustralia50 Ratings53 Reviews
Front End Developer in Melbourne, Australia
August 21, 2020
Performant
Easy to Use
Highly Customizable
Bleeding Edge
Responsive Maintainers

Rollup is perfect for bundling component libraries or packages otherwise intended for consumption by other projects. Module bundling in multiple formats (ES, UMD, CommonJS), tree shaking, plus a whole host of plugins. Used it in several simple projects and it was quite fast.


0
Damiano CarradoriMilan, MI8 Ratings8 Reviews
I believe in a future where knowledge will be accessible for all. That's why I challenge myself daily to learn something new to share with others. I'm a coder.
10 months ago

If you are writing a javascript module, Rollup is a very good alternative to webpack. You may need a bit of time to take confidence with its configuration, but it will be a good trade!


0
Vasily ShelkovDorset45 Ratings46 Reviews
8 months ago
Great Documentation
Easy to Use
Performant
Bleeding Edge

Before Rollup, Webpack was used for everything I created. The difference is that Rollup requires far less configuration than webpack and just feels like a lot less to need to understand to get the value out of it. I mainly use rollup to create libraries and is especially easy to create a library which supports esmodules as well as ship with types.


2
Smiter15
davymacca
Karolis ŠarapnickisVilnius, Lithuania86 Ratings79 Reviews
9 months ago
Great Documentation
Easy to Use
Performant

Very performat and easy to setup. Ideal choice for bundling packages. Though if you'll need something really customizable webpack can probably go further.


1
aswanikv

Rate Package

Share Feedback

Great Documentation19
Easy to Use22
Performant16
Highly Customizable9
Bleeding Edge9
Responsive Maintainers5
Poor Documentation0
Hard to Use2
Slow0
Buggy0
Abandoned0
Unwelcoming Community0
100