parcel

πŸ“¦πŸš€ Blazing fast, zero configuration web application bundler

Showing:

User Ratings

4.8/535
5
27
4
8
3
0
2
0
1
0

Top Feedback

Easy to Use30
Performant24
Great Documentation22
Bleeding Edge15
Highly Customizable4
Responsive Maintainers1

Showing 35 Reviews

Keeleigh Lawrence4 Ratings4 Reviews
Freelance Dev β™₯ JavaScript
July 9, 2020
Easy to Use
Bleeding Edge
Performant

After wrestling with Webpack for years, Parcel was just a joy to work with. It actually just works. It's amazing that in 2020 the most common use cases that nearly every front-end developer runs into require an insane Webpack configuration. The only small complaints that I would have about Parcel is that the documentation is a bit lacking, and it would be nice to have just a bit of configuration (coming in Parcel 2), but hey...compared to Webpack I'm not complaining.


4
rjaus
mhynson
omrilotan
andrei27m
Branden MetcalfeUnderground14 Ratings13 Reviews
I'm the firestarter
July 8, 2020
Easy to Use

Parcel is the perfect module bundler for JS applications. It just works. I've been using Webpack in the past, and found myself spending hours installing plugins, dealing with configuration issues, and reading StackOverflow posts to get it to work the way it should work. Parcel, on the contrary, is super easy to use. It just works out of the box, with sensible configuration, and no for installing additional dependencies (most of the time). It's quickly growing in popularity (almost 36K stars as for the time of this review), and has a pretty good community, although to be honest - you won't need it - since it just works. The only issue I found with Parcel is that it sometimes conflict with Dropbox (if used for the same directory), and starts rebuilding the bundle unnecessarily. This is really a small issue, compared with the numerous issues I had with Webpack. If you're still using Webpack, I suggest you take a look at Parcel for your next project, I found it to be significantly easier to use, faster, and most of all - less frustrating.


1
liorgrossman
Ilya RadchenkoTraverse City, MI33 Ratings37 Reviews
Enjoy building products with @emberjs. Lead product developer @appgeo. Interested in the decentralized web (@beakerbrowser)
8 months ago
Easy to Use
Performant
Bleeding Edge

Have used this for a few quick demos and things of the sort and can always say that it's super easy to get started with bundling. I've used their CSS features and the normal bundling but otherwise I haven't touched the other features. There are many interesting projects in this space now, including Vite, and Snowpack.


0
Rigin OommenPune41 Ratings64 Reviews
2 months ago
Great Documentation
Performant
Highly Customizable
Easy to Use
Bleeding Edge

Parcel is really easy bundle generator for apps. Its very easy to use when Compared to webpack parcel adoption is really fast and learning curve was less. Parcel offers great performance on packing small to medium scale web applications. When parcel is used in large scale web applications bunbling process have delays when compared to webpack. For adopting in a small/medium level apps i suggest parcel for high scale webapps i suggest webpack.


3
Zac10ck
cskumaresan
sajinimarychandy
omrilotan24 Ratings11 Reviews
β˜• I woke up like this
September 19, 2020
Easy to Use
Performant
Bleeding Edge

I've been using parcel to create automatically built static websites and I can honestly say this is the quickest way to start building from the first line of code you write. Its 0 configuration holds up throughout the development, and edge cases are also very quickly mediated.


1
Jogai
JΓ©rΓ©my Bojko4 Ratings4 Reviews
3 months ago
Easy to Use
Great Documentation
Performant

The package bundler parcel is one of the easiest to use. You don't have to touch to configuration, it's like a plug and play bundler. I used this version with my students and we encountered some difficulties to use the last version and we have to downgrade to the 1.12.3 version to perfectly be fine with it ! Even if there is a "zero-configuration" bundler, you'll have control on the entry file, or configured build output and more ! Use it when you want a fast bundler !


0
justtice-ankomah4 Ratings1 Review
2 months ago

Have used this for a few quick demos and things of the sort and can always say that it's super easy to get started with bundling. I've used their CSS features and the normal bundling but otherwise I haven't touched the other features. There are many interesting projects in this space now, including Vite, and Snowpack. I even used it to implementd some functionality in my client site http://tutorialscamp.com/ and it so cool.


0
Bruno VegoSplit, Croatia141 Ratings129 Reviews
Developer at Toptal & SeekandHit
8 months ago
Easy to Use
Performant
Bleeding Edge

Great tool, but you'll find that is still buggy. The awesome thing is that it works out of box, without the need for you to install anything yourself. It'll detect everything that you are using and handle the build or running the project itself. I hope the bugs will be solved with version 2. I don't use it for more serious projects, but rather testing and developing other things. I.E. developing an email template.


0
Katharin BensonIndia104 Ratings133 Reviews
Machine Learning and Deep Learning Enthusiast.
13 days ago
Great Documentation
Performant

Parcel is a well designed bundler that is so super fast and easy to use. The zero-config factor is a plus as compared to webpack or anything like that. It is perfect for small websites or webapps that doesnt require many plugins support or anything. You can get started on the webapp instantly with Parcel. I use it for small projects. It also has a good documentation that you can read through and get started easily.


0
Allen JosephINDIA46 Ratings53 Reviews
20. Google Code-In 2018 Finalist.| InCTF 2017 Finalist.| A passionate programmer.
6 months ago
Great Documentation
Easy to Use

I've been using Parcel as my main bundler for a while now. As a developer my main reason to use it was because it had literally zero configuration to set it up. The testing network parcel provide has built-in dev servers with live reload, so I didn't have to install anything externally. As someone who used webpack, Parcel was a major upgrade because I found it to be faster and better than webpack.


0

Rate Package

Share Feedback

Great Documentation22
Easy to Use30
Performant24
Highly Customizable4
Bleeding Edge15
Responsive Maintainers1
Poor Documentation0
Hard to Use0
Slow0
Buggy1
Abandoned0
Unwelcoming Community0
100