express

Fast, unopinionated, minimalist web framework for node.

Showing:

User Ratings

4.8/5812
5
665
4
119
3
18
2
8
1
2

Top Feedback

Easy to Use93
Great Documentation91
Performant67
Highly Customizable67
Responsive Maintainers24
Bleeding Edge16

Showing 798 Reviews

Robert WilsonPDX3 Ratings3 Reviews
August 4, 2020
Easy to Use
Highly Customizable

Definitely one of the packages I’ve used the most. For Node based API projects, there really isn’t a better option for most circumstances. While there might be an npm package that’s more suited to specific situations and niche applications, express is the heavy hitter when it comes to web servers and APIs in the Node world. It covers a lot of ground, but still feels really light weight and stays out of your way. It integrates well with other packages, and is so popular that many developers have created express specific packages to tie in with projects too. You won’t be stranded for functionality when you’re using express. From templating to date and time functionality, it all seems to integrate well if you need to add it to your express app. Express can be simple enough to be a great way to learn about building API endpoints too, but at the same time it’s solid and feature filled enough for a large, robust project. And developers have used it in so many situations that there’s almost always an answer on the web when you get stuck. Recommended for anyone starting out building Node based projects and looking for a web framework that will grow with their needs.


4
RiversideRocks
MartinTechy
bazuka5801
liorgrossman
Branden MetcalfeUnderground14 Ratings13 Reviews
I'm the firestarter
June 26, 2020
Performant
Easy to Use
Highly Customizable
Great Documentation

I've used Express to build web apps over the past 5 years. It's proven to be dependable, reliable, and well maintained. While there are newer Node frameworks popping up every once in a while, they usually end up being short-lived fads, I always end up coming back to Express. The documentation is solid, and the amount of community knowledge is vast.


2
bazuka5801
GauthierD-
Riley JamesMelbourne, Australia15 Ratings13 Reviews
Founder SuperAPI.com.au (@SuperAPIau), Ex-Developer Evangelist @XeroAPI
3 months ago
Great Documentation
Performant
Easy to Use

A super fast framework for building out API endpoints, perfect for busting out an MVP. The documentation is great, and because it so widely popular, a quick google will answer most of the problem you'll run into. For better or worse, it leave you to make a lot of decisions regarding how to implement you app. For example, you'll need to decide on an ORM, databases, test frameworks, etc. Express is an incredibly bare bones framework to begin with. Additionally, the unopinionated nature means you'll need to devise your own directory structure to organise your application. Coming from the rails world, that all seems quite strange. But node seems all about mixing and matching as many packages as possible. Not bad, just different. For rails dev's coming to the node landscape, Express & Sequelize make a great combo. Sequelize being an active record equivalent, it gives you a structure for your orm/db/models. Found Express pairs well


7
sanjivani-chavan-new
bhau-kadam
sonali-deshmukh-new
neha-josh
neha-kumar-new
shreenath-bhidve
poonam-yadav-seven
vishal-majhi24 Ratings39 Reviews
2 months ago

In Node, a very popular framework but not the only one to say that is Express. Using such a framework was definitely a good idea. It offers you a lot of tools that make writing node apps more fun and easier. It implements a lot of functionalities that will take care of all the annoying stuff.


4
subhadippal66
Cpt-Ghost
mxd025
rajrgb
Preveen RajKochi, Kerala, India58 Ratings49 Reviews
Software Engineer @bigbinary
3 months ago
Easy to Use
Great Documentation

Whether its a POC project or for a hackathon, or even a full fledged application, Express can be the best nodejs framework to consider. Why? Because anyone with basic javascript knowledge can start up a server and api endpoints working in no time. Never to mention, a lot of express plugins does magic that takes away a lot of developer pain.


2
vishnuprasad-95
ajayesivan
RohitPayyanur, Kannur, Kerala, India35 Ratings35 Reviews
I am a second year computer science student.
1 month ago
Easy to Use
Highly Customizable
Great Documentation

I am a backend developer focusing more on NodeJs and so express is one of the libraries that I use on a day-to-day basis. It is the simplicity of expression that made me fall in love, the use of middleware is also an amazing feature. Express provides a built-in solution for handling all kinds of requests one might encounter. The one thing I wish express supported out of the box is splitting the load using workers.


1
riginoommen
Chris HartwigTenerife, Spain... a sunny island6 Ratings6 Reviews
I'm the guy behind https://sslping.com
1 year ago
Great Documentation
Easy to Use
Performant

Express is hands down the best option when you want something simple yet full featured. Even with many alternatives, I just can't see why people use something else. Express is well documented, ultra-popular so you'll always find solutions to your problems, and it's quite performant too.


1
liorgrossman
wetsat42 Ratings45 Reviews
3 months ago

I am using express in production for the last 4 years and it never disappointed me even once. It is fast, easy to write and the best part about express is its middleware system. You can literally find a middleware for every thing that you may need


1
prem-sharma
shafayet140405252 Ratings72 Reviews
9 months ago
Great Documentation
Easy to Use
Performant
Highly Customizable

One of the most used frameworks for building node applications and creating REST APIs. Can not imagine without using it. 6-star rating for this framework. Love from my heart for the developers of the express.


1
aswanikv
somerandompiggoUnited Kingdom7 Ratings6 Reviews
c is cool except when it is not
6 hours ago

Definitely the best web server module I have used for node. Its probably one of the modules I use the most! It can be buggy at times but most of the time, its all smooth!


1
SomeRandom-Dev

Rate Package

Share Feedback

Great Documentation91
Easy to Use93
Performant67
Highly Customizable67
Bleeding Edge16
Responsive Maintainers24
Poor Documentation2
Hard to Use0
Slow2
Buggy0
Abandoned1
Unwelcoming Community0
100