express
4.8/51.9K

express

npm i express
Robert WilsonPDX3 Ratings3 Reviews
August 4, 2020
Easy to Use
Highly Customizable

Definitely one of the packages I’ve used the most. For Node based API projects, there really isn’t a better option for most circumstances. While there might be an npm package that’s more suited to specific situations and niche applications, express is the heavy hitter when it comes to web servers and APIs in the Node world. It covers a lot of ground, but still feels really light weight and stays out of your way. It integrates well with other packages, and is so popular that many developers have created express specific packages to tie in with projects too. You won’t be stranded for functionality when you’re using express. From templating to date and time functionality, it all seems to integrate well if you need to add it to your express app. Express can be simple enough to be a great way to learn about building API endpoints too, but at the same time it’s solid and feature filled enough for a large, robust project. And developers have used it in so many situations that there’s almost always an answer on the web when you get stuck. Recommended for anyone starting out building Node based projects and looking for a web framework that will grow with their needs.


4
RiversideRocksMartinTechybazuka5801liorgrossman
Branden MetcalfeUnderground14 Ratings13 Reviews
I'm the firestarter
June 26, 2020
Performant
Easy to Use
Highly Customizable
Great Documentation

I've used Express to build web apps over the past 5 years. It's proven to be dependable, reliable, and well maintained. While there are newer Node frameworks popping up every once in a while, they usually end up being short-lived fads, I always end up coming back to Express. The documentation is solid, and the amount of community knowledge is vast.


2
bazuka5801GauthierD-
Riley JamesMelbourne, Australia15 Ratings13 Reviews
Founder SuperAPI.com.au (@SuperAPIau), Ex-Developer Evangelist @XeroAPI
June 21, 2021
Great Documentation
Performant
Easy to Use

A super fast framework for building out API endpoints, perfect for busting out an MVP. The documentation is great, and because it so widely popular, a quick google will answer most of the problem you'll run into. For better or worse, it leave you to make a lot of decisions regarding how to implement you app. For example, you'll need to decide on an ORM, databases, test frameworks, etc. Express is an incredibly bare bones framework to begin with. Additionally, the unopinionated nature means you'll need to devise your own directory structure to organise your application. Coming from the rails world, that all seems quite strange. But node seems all about mixing and matching as many packages as possible. Not bad, just different. For rails dev's coming to the node landscape, Express & Sequelize make a great combo. Sequelize being an active record equivalent, it gives you a structure for your orm/db/models. Found Express pairs well


7
sanjivani-chavan-newbhau-kadamsonali-deshmukh-newneha-joshneha-kumar-newshreenath-bhidvepoonam-yadav-seven
vishal-majhi23 Ratings23 Reviews
July 13, 2021

In Node, a very popular framework but not the only one to say that is Express. Using such a framework was definitely a good idea. It offers you a lot of tools that make writing node apps more fun and easier. It implements a lot of functionalities that will take care of all the annoying stuff.


4
subhadippal66Cpt-Ghostmxd025rajrgb
sneha v24 Ratings24 Reviews
Computer science passionate
October 4, 2021
Great Documentation
Highly Customizable
Easy to Use
Performant

Express is very beginner friendly library for building backed applications it has very less learning curve compared to other library like Django. When i started studying Django its just confusing some concepts but when i tried Express its became very easy to start with. For JavaScript Developers there is no better choice to build a backed application whether it is REST API or ordinary back end. After the knowledge from express i could catch up the concepts in Django. If you want to start web development then express is a best starting point .


3
crazyankit2470ankitivvaniakaashvani
Ankit Raj32 Ratings32 Reviews
building for the world
1 year ago
Great Documentation
Easy to Use
Performant
Highly Customizable
Bleeding Edge
Responsive Maintainers

Express helps you create severs effortlessly. It's model and abstraction helps me write scalable backend with lerna. I have been a fan of express. Any challenges you face can easilly be found on stackoverflow. Thanks to it's strong community. Definitely recommended. This also have a very detailed documentation that can be used for any queries. Go for it without any second thought.


2
shubham-jangidAmarjeetkhasyap
Preveen RajKochi, Kerala, India58 Ratings38 Reviews
Software Engineer @bigbinary
June 25, 2021
Easy to Use
Great Documentation

Whether its a POC project or for a hackathon, or even a full fledged application, Express can be the best nodejs framework to consider. Why? Because anyone with basic javascript knowledge can start up a server and api endpoints working in no time. Never to mention, a lot of express plugins does magic that takes away a lot of developer pain.


2
vishnuprasad-95ajayesivan
RohitPayyanur, Kannur, Kerala, India35 Ratings35 Reviews
I am a second year computer science student.
August 25, 2021
Easy to Use
Highly Customizable
Great Documentation

I am a backend developer focusing more on NodeJs and so express is one of the libraries that I use on a day-to-day basis. It is the simplicity of expression that made me fall in love, the use of middleware is also an amazing feature. Express provides a built-in solution for handling all kinds of requests one might encounter. The one thing I wish express supported out of the box is splitting the load using workers.


1
riginoommen
Gajanan2756 Ratings36 Reviews
December 28, 2021

I never thought of having to build whole application using javascript, but MEAN framework enable us to do this one. I used express in one of my real time data load application, where I need server to push data to client. I build service layer with express that push data to my browser. Its really nice way to build service on node server using express.


1
ghanlohar
rohanSaroha-pharmeasy30 Ratings30 Reviews
December 21, 2021

It is certainly easier to learn Node if you have past experience with JavaScript but the challenges you will face are completely different than you will face in the frontend.This library handles it like a champ. Very minimal effort from developers, the documentation is amazing, Could not ask for more.


1
s-r-aman

Rate Package

100

Quick Feedback

Great Documentation102
Easy to Use106
Performant76
Highly Customizable77
Bleeding Edge18
Responsive Maintainers27
Poor Documentation2
Hard to Use0
Slow3
Buggy0
Abandoned2
Unwelcoming Community1