@material-ui/core

Material-UI is a simple and customizable component library to build faster, beautiful, and more accessible React applications. Follow your own design system, or start with Material Design.

Showing:

User Ratings

4.6/5632
5
444
4
139
3
39
2
8
1
2

Top Feedback

Great Documentation100
Easy to Use86
Highly Customizable74
Performant48
Responsive Maintainers46
Bleeding Edge34

Showing 623 Reviews

Lior GrossmanSan Francisco26 Ratings11 Reviews
Entrepreneur, technologist, product guy
July 8, 2020
Easy to Use
Great Documentation

Probably one of the best UI libraries out there today! (with few small downsides) Material UI offers countless components, and its design language is based on Google's Material UI. It's very mature nowadays, so components are highly customizable and you can do just about everything with them. There's an OK support for theming (and you can every create a dark theme), however, if you need granular support over the UI of the components, this is probably not for you. Also, since Material Design makes heavy use of shadows, transitions and effects, Material UI isn't the most lightweight library and this can affect the perceived responsiveness of your app. Nevertheless, it offers the ability to create a modern, beautiful UI with minimal code, and the documentation is sublime, so IMHO it's still worth it.


0
Parimal YeolePune73 Ratings81 Reviews
Lang :Node[TS,JS] | Dart | Go | Haskell DB: Mongo | Postgres | Redis | DynamoDb | ElasticSearch Acrhitecture: Micro-service | Serverless AWS Certified
6 months ago
Responsive Maintainers
Highly Customizable
Performant
Great Documentation
Bleeding Edge

Lots of different components library and UI philosophy available for reactis nowadays. In frontend ever growing world, it's hard to work with all those packages. But for me Material UI is go to library for reactis or nextjs project. - It has long list of components. - Good typescript support - highly customisable due to theme. - css in js is awesome - all comments are aligned to google material philosophy - all components are highly customisable for custom design - good grid system built on flexbox Most of all, most loved and maintained UI component library around from 1st react wave.


0
Valentin VagoBerlin1 Rating1 Review
Started writing JS, CSS and HTML when it was making sense to mention that the website was Netscape and IE compatible.
10 months ago
Great Documentation
Performant
Highly Customizable
Responsive Maintainers

Two years of building UIs with that project and I'm so happy about that rock solid library. Its documentation is exhaustive, clear and comes with a lot of good practices about accessibility. The customization may be its only little quirk because it's extremely flexible and the right way to achieve your goals needs to develop a feeling. The generated DOM might also be somewhat heavy but at execution the user won't feel a thing.


0
shafayet140405252 Ratings72 Reviews
9 months ago
Great Documentation
Easy to Use
Performant
Highly Customizable
Responsive Maintainers
Bleeding Edge

Previously I use Bootstrap for styling and designing the user interfaces. But when material UI comes in front of me I cannot imagine without using it. It seems very easy to use material-UI rather than custom styling and bootstrap. I really love it.


2
vishnuprasad-95
aswanikv
Chase GibbonsLogan, Ut61 Ratings26 Reviews
24 days ago

Overall, I like material-ui for the most part. We use it in our production environment. Sometimes we have issues with the form controls not rendering right, etc. I really like the angular version of material-ui. But have you seen the material-ui store they have alongside this package? If not--you should definitely check it out. They have some examples in their that are some of the cleanest looking themes I've ever seen! And those are all built on this package so I guess I just still have more learning to do in the react realm. We always seem to have problems with rendering these days, either renders too much or too little--that and unit testing react redux stuff. But as for material-ui in particular, they have excellent docs that we've made use of numerous times and I'd recommend it to anyone programming in react!


1
riginoommen
Felix TietjenHamburg25 Ratings26 Reviews
Front-End developer.
August 19, 2020
Responsive Maintainers
Great Documentation
Easy to Use
Bleeding Edge
Highly Customizable

The superior styling, theming and general UI soluition for React. The best part of this library is not just its rich array of ready-to-use components, but also the way these components can be customized. The makeStyles hook generator function completely makes CSS and SCSS useless. Even custom components can easily be styled with this inbuilt CSS-in-JS solution.


1
happycoder0011
Subhadip PalJamshedpur33 Ratings35 Reviews
MERN stack Developer (C++, Python, Javascript, c#)
5 months ago

As a MERN stack developer, I used Material UI a lot. It's very well documented and you can customize everything. Also, Material UI icons are my favorite among everything. Also, it makes my web app looks premium very quickly. Here is my 5 point why I like material UI so much - 1. it's well documented, you can find everything in their document, you don't have to search on google also. 2. everything is customizable with your own CSS 3. Huge library of ICONS 4. Everything is responsive out of the box 5. Beginner friendly. 2.


0
Vibhu GautamBokaro Steel City47 Ratings47 Reviews
MERN Stack Developer, Competitive Coder, Language - C , C++ , Java , JavaScript
5 months ago

Since the very Beginning, I was using Bootstrap for styling components. But nowadays I shifted to Material UI. The documentation is perfectly written, you can find literally everything in that. It’s highly customizable and large pool of icons to choose with also it is very responsive. Since many web apps are using Material UI/icons, it’s a must for React Apps to give them a premium look and great documentation.


0
mohit990554 Ratings59 Reviews
19 days ago
Easy to Use
Great Documentation

Everyone wants a delightful and elegant UI for there app . This package is one of the best UI libraries to work with it is very easy to work with material-ui as compared to custom styling or bootstrap elements. The documentation is highly understandable , everything is mentioned there in great details . It might be somehow heavy as compared to other UI libraries but still a very reliable package to work with.


0
Katharin BensonIndia104 Ratings133 Reviews
Machine Learning and Deep Learning Enthusiast.
13 days ago
Great Documentation
Bleeding Edge

Material UI itself is a good design system when building a large app that requires a lot of components. It has a lot of components that one might need. But I have ran into many issues with this library causing problems to other Micro UI packages. Also the components are not easily customisable as one might hope. The animations and smoothness of UI components bring nice UX to user. The library is heavy though.


0

Rate Package

Share Feedback

Great Documentation100
Easy to Use86
Performant48
Highly Customizable74
Bleeding Edge34
Responsive Maintainers46
Poor Documentation3
Hard to Use0
Slow8
Buggy1
Abandoned0
Unwelcoming Community0
100