4.5/51.1K

@angular/core

npm i @angular/core
5
763
4
199
3
68
2
22
1
27
Great Documentation38
Easy to Use29
Highly Customizable29
Performant25
Bleeding Edge22
kasual1Germany3 Ratings1 Review
I love Angular, TypeScript and modern web development
September 18, 2020
Great Documentation
Bleeding Edge
Easy to Use
Responsive Maintainers

Angular provides a whole set of tools necessary to build scalable and robust web apps. While there are concepts that take time to understand (such as RxJs, dependency injection, modularization), they definitely pay off in the long run. As soon as you are in, you'll appreciate the architecture, Angular is build upon. These days there are a lot of competitive frameworks out there which all create quite some buzz around them. As a software developer it is important to see whats behind and oftentimes it boils down to the core principles: scalability, performance, structure and maintainability. In my opinion Angular provides clear solutions to all of them and therefore is an excellent pick for building software that lasts for decades rather than years. Furthermore I really need to agree on the comment of Cory Kleiser on upgradability. The biyearly release schedule is a good thing. It is easy to upgrade from on version to another and Angular provides tools and guides to make it as quick as possible. Since the angular team has committed to a "no breaking changes" policy, your software as well as your software developers benefit from the subtle changes in every release and e.g. can stay up to date with the latest TypeScript version.


2
alexn-s
huiwenhan
Cory KleiserMonument, CO33 Ratings23 Reviews
Full Stack Software Engineer
September 7, 2020

I've been using Angular since it came out in 2016. I've used plenty of frameworks but Angular continues to be my favorite. The CLI makes creating new applications and elements a breeze. The out of the box typescript forces developers to adhere to a Statically Typed way of work. Similarly the conventions set by the Angular team allow a consistent standard that can be seen across applications and even across dev teams. I've heard Angular has a large learning curve but I don't get that. Maybe when TS wasn't as widely adopted as it has become it had a higher bar for entry but now I believe it's one of the easiest frameworks to learn and use efficiently. I've also hear devs complain about how hectic their release schedule is. I'm currently working in an application that has been upgraded 6->7->8->9 and now to 10. Updating is typically a breeze; sometimes requiring no manual changes. Still, I can kind of understand this worry with Angular releasing a major version twice a year. That being said, EcmaScript releases a new standard every year and we're all cool with that. Highly Recommended.


0
Sayak SarkarPune, India196 Ratings100 Reviews
Principal Software Engineer at Red Hat, open web evangelist and a friendly developer.
10 months ago
Highly Customizable
Easy to Use
Slow
Great Documentation

I used to be a great of Angular during the early days. One of the main reasons behind that was the performance benefits that it provided. However, as angular kept maturing it kept getting heavier and heavier. This is what eventually forced me to look elsewhere and over time I have moved to prefer Vue more. Recent developments in Angular core are promising though. However, It still doesnt warrant a 5 star rating in my opinion.


1
riginoommen
Ahmed-Emad11212Maldives57 Ratings23 Reviews
A mid level developer who likes tech and coding
7 months ago
Great Documentation
Performant
Bleeding Edge

Being a beginner in Angular have some influence on my opinion, because the learning curve is sure big and low, it's different from Vanilla JS and React, so would need some getting use to, but it's powerful for sure, specially the most modern features (eg: Ahead of time compilation)


1
Ahmed-Elswerky
Giuseppe CampanelliMontreal21 Ratings20 Reviews
Online Programmer @ Ubisoft
10 months ago

Angular is very powerful and has an extensive feature set. However, compared to Vue (and React) there is a huge learning curve. I used Angular in a production project in the past and since switching to Vue I've never looked back.


1
riginoommen
Abhinav Dinesh CKochi30 Ratings29 Reviews
Front End Engineer | JavaScript, Angular, React
10 months ago
Easy to Use
Great Documentation
Performant
Highly Customizable
Bleeding Edge
Responsive Maintainers
Hard to Use

I started off with frontend development using Angular and even after using many other frameworks I love certain things about Angular that makes me want to develop new applications with Angular. The most important thing about Angular is that it's a fully fledged frontend framework, it has most things you would need to develop a web application inbuilt, you don't need third party applications to do basic things like routing and form handling. Angular uses TypeScript out of the box and oh boy is it a delight to use. Getting used to TypeScript I now use it with every framework I work on. Angular also has a superb Form library, it just makes Angular my default choice for apps that have many forms. Also since Angular has a well defined set of best practices and rules to follow you don't waste your time bike shedding. There are at most two different ways to do something and one of which will be the preferred way of doing it. It's a great choice for large teams as ensuring code quality will be easier as you wouldn't need to argue about the best practices between your team members. They are all well documented on the Angular Docs. The one turn-off about the framework is that it has a huge learning curve that keeps most people away from using it. But once you get the hang of it you would want to pick Angular for certain kinds of applications over the other frameworks.


0
Moe Salah113 Ratings82 Reviews
7 months ago
Slow
Hard to Use
Great Documentation

AngularJS used to be the first JS framework I've ever learned, it was the next big thing back then until Angular 2 was released, everyone (including me) just moved over to alternative frameworks such as Vue and React since both have a much more stable API and they're much easier to use as well once you get over the learning curve that's introduced after migrating from a previous framework. I've used Angular 2 in several projects and its syntax is much more opinionated than say React or Vue so it's relatively more difficult to make mistakes using it that would otherwise render the project unmaintainable for large-scale enterprises.


0
Alex25 Ratings2 Reviews
typescript dev from germany
June 23, 2021
Hard to Use

I've used angular for many projects until tried out Vue and React JS. This is my opinion and others may disagree: Awesome things about Angular are, that it is a full framework and gives you everything that you will ever need (routing, lazy loading, ...). Your projects tend to get big really fast (amount of files & total size). I thought that the biggest drawback is also its biggest selling point, that it has everything. It is really though getting into the framework with a huge learning curve. Even after some time you still learn a ton of new things. In terms of development speed, I was way faster with ReactJs & also Vue.


0
nikhil288248 Ratings47 Reviews
February 5, 2021
Great Documentation
Hard to Use

I personally feel that Angular is outdated. keep up with Angular is a pain. every time a new version released it seriously gave me goosebumps. what a dependency owner decided to upgrade his module what will I do? as we know all dependencies should be on the same angular version. I used it for 1 year and I don't know that it was a genuine problem with everyone or I was the only one suffering due to lack of experience. Plus point is It provides a structure that is missing in React. which is a double-edged sword, experience developer will enjoy freedom in structureless approach, a beginner will cry


0
Rajesh TirupathiHyderabad, India73 Ratings67 Reviews
April 6, 2021
Great Documentation
Highly Customizable
Bleeding Edge
Performant
Easy to Use

Angular is a complete framework, which includes everything required for a project and nothing we need to worry about which libraries we need to add. It's like batteries included whereas, in other libraries like React, we need to decide what to include for a web framework, routing, state management, etc. This helps developers or beginners a lot less work and easy to kick start the project. It has very good documentation and covered with tons of examples and huge community support. As mentioned it comes with many libraries which may not be required for all cases.


0

Rate Package

100

Quick Feedback

Great Documentation38
Easy to Use29
Performant25
Highly Customizable29
Bleeding Edge22
Responsive Maintainers16
Poor Documentation4
Hard to Use15
Slow5
Buggy4
Abandoned1
Unwelcoming Community2